Join us for our Star Awards Gala on February 13, 2020

at the Houstonian Hotel

Reserve your hotel rooms HERE

Media Alliance of Houston Star Awards 2020

For Ticket Payment:

For Members:

For Non-Members:

1 Seat at Gala: $175                                        Table for 10 at Gala: $1750     

1 Seat at Gala: $200                                        Table for 10 at Gala: $2000     

If you are unsure about your membership status or would like membership prices, 

please contact Michelle Giroir at


Digital Sales Professional (OOH, Print, Radio, & TV Exclusive        

Elizabeth Smith, Clear Channel Outdoor

Lisa Baldon, iHeart Media

Meredith Rall, KHOU


Digital Sales Professional (Digital Exclusive)

Christine Gensch, Goodway Group

Lisa Flores, Pandora

Michelle Giroir, Centro


Out of Home or Print Account Executive 

Alberto Morales, Clear Channel Outdoor

Kandis Lakin, Outfront

Karen Nickerson, Community Impact Newspaper


Out of Home or Print Media Manager or VP

Jay Sitta, Outfront

Kristina Shackelford, Community Impact Newspaper

Michelle Costa, Clear Channel


Sports Team Professional

Clay Harris, Learfield/IMG

Erik Pulverenti, Professional Sports Partners

Justin Kempisty, Houston Dynamo/Houston Dash


On-Air TV Personality

Derrick Shore, KPRC

Elita Loresca, KTRK

Len Cannon, KHOU


Local TV Account Executive  

Brittany Burt, KPRC

Kerry Muldrow, KTRK

Natalie Hinloopen & Jenny Tucker, KHOU


TV Sales Manager or Director of Sales

Krystan LaChance, KPRC

Lorena Cavazos, Telemundo

Lori Clark, KHOU

Mark Mahoney, KTRK


TV News Director

Dave Strickland, KPRC

Jerry Vazquez, Telemundo

Rehan Aslam, KTRK


TV Market Manager or VP

Jerry Martin, KPRC

Lisa Shumate, Houston Public Media

Tony Canales, Telemundo

Wendy Granato, KTRK


Radio Producer or News Director

Laura Reynolds, Entercom

Michael Hagerty, Houston Public Media

Producer Eric, Cumulus


Radio On-Air Personality

Dean & Rog, Cox Media

Rod Ryan, iHeart Media

Roula Christie, Cumulus


Local Radio Account Executive 

Lesley Duncan, Cox Media

Robert Reese, iHeart Media

Tania Gladson, Entercom


Radio Sales Manager or Director 

Dave Burdette, Entercom

Kristin Armstrong, iHeart Media

Tim Gratzer, Cumulus


Radio Program Director or Operations Director 

Jim Pivero, Houston Public Media

Johnny Chiang, Cox Media

Marc Sherman, iHeart Media


Radio Market Manager or VP

Alex Cadelago, Cumulus

Lisa Shumate, Houston Public Media

Sarah Frazier, Entercom


Promotions Director or Marketing Professional

Kristi Strawn, KTRK

Melissa Brezner, iHeart Media

Rebecca Cantu, KHOU

Yasely Carrizales, Entercom


Local Media Sales Assistant or Traffic Assistant

Rachel Boeding, KHOU

Summer Salas, KTRK

Toni Trimmer, Cox Media


Local Community Affairs Director

Freddy Cruz, Cumulus

JC Perez, Telemundo

Lee Vela, Clear Channel Outdoor


Local Agency Support Staff

Charity Cain, Love Advertising

Christie Ko, Brivic Media

Diana Rios, Strike Marketing

Megan Skinner, MMI


Local Agency Account Service/Brand Management

Brenda Carbajal, Love Advertising

Caitlin Stansfield, Brivic Media

Sheryl Grigsby, Briggs and Caldwell


Local Agency Buyer   

Erlyns Portillo, Love Advertising

Leah Smith, Briggs and Caldwell

Liz Nieto, Brivic Media

Matt Taylor, Strike Marketing


Local Agency Planner

Avery Domenech, Brivic Media

Mia Vieira, Love Advertising

Thomas Goggins, Strike Marketing


Local Agency Digital Professional    

Amanda Rossy, Brivic Media

Jordan Lippman, Freed Advertising

Marc Vasquez, Strike Marketing

Nicole Plunkett, Love Advertising


Local Agency Media Director or Associate Media Director

Ashlee Rohm, MMI

Kelley Robinson, Brivic Media

Kelley Rodriguez, Love Advertising


Agency Principal 

Allen Brivic, Brivic Media

Brenda Love, Love Advertising

Kellie Briggs & Chris Caldwell, Briggs and Caldwell

Thomas Goggins, Shari Okin & Joe Pogge, Strike Marketing


Agency of the Year (Small)   


Mind Dance Marketing

Strike Marketing        

You Squared Media


Agency of the Year (Large)   

Freed Advertising      

MMI Agency  



MAH Rising Star

Jordan Hess, KPRC

Laura Reid, KHOU

Leslie Turner, Cox Media


Market Rock Star

Elizabeth Bond, KHOU

Kelley Robinson, Brivic Media

Kim Ryan, Telemundo

Lesley Duncan, Cox Media

Ever wonder how nominee selection and voting works for Star Awards?

Here's what you need to know!

Those who won an award for a specific category the previous year are not eligible to be nominated for that same category the following year, however they can be nominated for other categories if applicable.


Each company can submit one nomination ballot for first round of voting.


Nominees must be in the Houston Market.


TV, Radio, Out of Home and Print companies will receive 20 votes in addition to their membership. 
If there is no membership, then they will just receive 20 votes.


Agencies receive 10 votes in addition to their membership. 
If there is no membership, they will just receive 10 votes.


MAH Members receive the number of votes outlined in their membership, in addition to their given votes. 
Example:  If KHOU has a 5 person membership, they will receive 25 votes (5 for their membership, 20 for being a TV station)

Individual members are eligible to vote.


First round of voting—the top three or four nominees for each round will move on to the final round of voting. 
For categories, like MAH Rising Star and Market Rock Star or any category where there is a close tie, four will move on to the final round of voting.


Each nominee for the final round of voting will be sent an essay to complete, as part of their overall score.


Essays will be sent to 10 out-of-market judges who will submit their ballots to the CPA.


All essay scores and voting scores will be submitted to a CPA to tabulate the final winner for each category.


Scoring is 55% voting and 45% essay for final scores.